Carried



Northeast Alberta Information HUB **Annual General Meeting Minutes** June 20, 2018 Portage College, St. Paul, Alberta

Attending:

Mike Krywiak M.D. Bonnyville, Soren Odegard/County of Two Hills, Terri Hampson/Elk Point, Tim MacPhee/Vergreville, Christopher Robblee/Vegreville, Stan Delorme/Buffalo Lake Metis Settlement, George Rogers/Vermilion, Greg Sparklingeyes/Whitefish First Nation, Bob Bezpalko/Alberta HUB, Kathryn Hotte/Alberta HUB, RABC, Bob Buckle/City of Cold Lake, Caroline McAuley/Vermilion, Ross Whitelaw/Smoky Lake, Steve Upham/County of St. Paul, Bev Lockett/Portage College, Don Romanko/Vilna, Loni Leslie/Vilna, Cheryle Eikeland/Marwayne, Murray Phillips/County of Two Hills, Laurent Amyotte/County of St. Paul, Doug Sullivan/Bruderheim, Gary Dupuis/Myrnam, Jim Newman/Lamont County, Dan Warawa/Lamont County, Lorne Halisky/Smoky Lake County, Richard Wagner/Minburn County, Diane Harms/Lakeland College, Sheila Lupul/Andrew, Jocelyn Lanovas/Mannville, Jody Quickstad/Mannville, Loren Tkachuk/Lac La Biche County, Chad Colbourne/Bonnyville, Gary Ward/St. Paul, Jana Rowe/Lac La Biche County, Mike Tarkowski/Two Hills, Jason Kowal/Mundare, Dayna Brosseau/NADC, Sheila Sikora/NADC, Kaitlyn Kenney/County of St. Paul, Hailey Gish/County of St. Paul.

Proxy Vote: Kitscoty

Special Guests: MLA David Hanson Lac La Biche St. Paul Two Hills, Richard Jean JMD Group LLP

Regrets: Lindsay Haag/EMW, Lonnie Wolgein/County of Vermilion River,

> MLA Jessica Littlewood Fort Saskatchewan Vegreville, MLA Dr. Richard Starke/Vermilion-Lloydminster, MLA Scott Cyr Bonnyville Cold Lake, Patty Podobowzny/Bruderheim, Laura Papirny/Glendon, Debbie McMann/Innisfree, Jennifer Hodel/Innisfree,

1.0 Chair Soren Odegard called the Meeting to order at 6:45pm

> Soren welcomed everyone for attending and thanked the Alberta HUB members for their dedication to regional economic development.

Soren called upon Gary Ward/Town of St. Paul for welcoming remarks Soren called upon MLA David Hanson for welcoming remarks

2.0 Adoption of Agenda

> Moved by Caroline McAuley/Vermilion to adopt the agenda. With the addition of Carried

Structure of the Northeast Alberta Information HUB Board of Directors

3.0 Adoption of Minutes

Moved by Tim MacPhee/Vegreville to adopt the minutes of the June 29,2017

Carried AGM as presented.

4.0 Soren Presented the 2016/17 Alberta HUB Annual Report Chair's Message

Soren moved his report be accepted as presented.

Financial Report

5.0 Soren Odegard called upon Caroline McAuley who introduced Richard Jean from

Joly, McCarthy & Dion Chartered Accountants who presented the audited Financial Statements

for the year ending March 31, 2018.

Steve Upham/County of St. Paul moved to accept the financial report as presented. Carried

- Soren asked for a motion to retain JMD Group LLP as financial auditors for the Northeast Alberta Information HUB for the 2018-19 operating year.

 Mile Kravick (M.D. of Bennyille moved to retain IMD LLP as financial auditors for the
 - Mike Krywiak/M.D. of Bonnyville moved to retain JMD LLP as financial auditors for the Northeast Alberta Information HUB

Carried

- **7.0** Soren called upon Kathryn Hotte SBA to provide a summary of the Rural Alberta Business Center for the 2017-18.
- Soren called upon Bob Bezpalko, Executive Director of Alberta HUB to provide a review of 2017-18 activities and moving forward into 2018-19.See agenda package
- **9.0** Alberta HUB Board Structure –

Soren provided information on the current board structure of Alberta HUB - 10 positions Villages-1 rep, Towns under 3000 - 1 rep, Towns over 3000-2 reps, Counties-3 reps, Metis Settlements-1 rep, First Nations-1 rep, 1 - Cities . Lloydminster joined in 2018 getting an Automatic board seat as a City.

Soren advised that a request has been made to add 2 additional categories as per the Current membership.

Post -secondary educational institutions – 1 director Business/Industry – 1 director

Soren also offered the option of the entire Alberta HUB membership becoming a full membership Board. After hearing no further discussion Soren asked for a resolution that states the affairs of the Northeast Alberta Information HUB (Alberta HUB) will be managed by a Board of Directors consisting of 13 directors, change from 10.

Resolution

Caroline McAuley moved the following resolution to the articles of association that the Northeast Alberta Information HUB be governed by a 13-member board of directors by adding the categories of Post-secondary educational institutions and Business/Industry with each represented by 1 director. (Lloydminster automatic board seat)

Carried This will come into effect for the operating year 2019-20.

10.0

Election of Board members - Bob Bezpalko

3 County/M.D. Representatives:

- Soren Odegard County of Two Hills
- Loren Tkachuk Lac La Biche County
- Steve Upham St. Paul County

With no other nominations Caroline McAuley/Vermilion moved nominations cease. Carried

2 Town (Population over 3000) Representatives:

- Caroline McAuley Town of Vermilion
- Tim MacPhee Town of Vegreville

With no other nominations Dan Warawa/Lamont County moved nominations cease.

Carried

1 Town (Population under 3000) Represent
--

• Ross Whitelaw – Town of Smoky Lake

With no other nominations Tim MacPhee/Vegreville moved nominations cease.

Carried

1 Metis Settlement Representative:

• Stan Delorme – Buffalo Lake Metis Settlement

With no other nominations Don Romanko/Vilna move nominations cease.

Carried

1 First Nation Representative:

• Greg Sparklingeyes- Whitefish Lake First Nation

With no other nominations Mike Krywiak/M.D. Bonnyville moved nominations cease.

Carried

1 Village Representative:

Cheryle Eikeland – Village of Marwayne

With no other nominations Soren Odegard/Two Hills County moved nominations cease.

Carried

City of Cold Lake – Bob Buckle City of Lloydminster – Katlin Ducherer

Bob Bezpalko concluded the elections by thanking the board members for their dedication to the The Northeast Alberta Information HUB.

Bob advised the membership that the new board member categories will take effect at the June/2019 AGM once 2018-19 AGM minutes are approved.

Soren acknowledged Mike Krywiak (M.D. of Bonnyville) for his years of dedication, support and contribution On the Alberta HUB board. Mike's contribution has greatly strengthened the Alberta HUB region. Bob also thanked Mike for his guidance and advice in managing the Alberta HUB organization.

Soren thanked everyone for attending and adjourned the meeting at 8:20pm

Soren Odegard	Caroline McAuley
Chair	Secretary/Treasurer