NORTHERN ALBERTA MAYORS AND REEVES CAUCUS MEETING Edmonton – Edmonton Convention Centre Monday, March 18, 2019

Present:

Mayor Alanna Hnatiw	Sturgeon County
Reeve Alvin Hubert	Saddle Hills County
Mayor Barry Turner	Town of Morinville
Reeve Bart Guyon	Brazeau County
Mayor Bob Young	City of Leduc
Deputy Mayor Brian Holden	Town of Bon Accord
Deputy Mayor Brice Ferguson	Town of Slave Lake
Deputy Mayor Bruce Lloy	Town of Stony Plain
Mayor Caroline McAuley	Town of Vermilion
Mayor Cathy Heron	City of St. Albert
Mayor Charlene Smylie	Village of Wabamun
Deputy Reeve Cheryl Pasay	Thorhild County
Reeve Craig Lukinuk	Smoky Lake County
Reeve Dale Swyripa	County of Vermilion River
Mayor Dan Deck	Town of Gibbons
Reeve David Diduck	Lamont County
Mayor Don Iveson	City of Edmonton
Reeve Douglas Drozd	County of Barrhead
Deputy Mayor Duane Lay	City of Cold Lake
Mayor Gale Katchur	City of Fort Saskatchewan
Mayor Gene Sobolewski	Town of Bonnyville
Mayor Gerald Soroka	Yellowhead County
Mayor Hank Holowaychuk	Town of Smoky Lake
Mayor Janet Jabush	Town of Mayorthorpe
Mayor Jim Hailes	Town of Fox Creek
Reeve Joe Blakeman	Lac Ste. Anne County
Mayor John Stewart	City of Beaumont
Reeve Kevin Grumetza	Thorhild County
Mayor Kevin Zahara	Town of Edson
Reeve Leanne Beaupre	County of Grade Prairie No. 1
Deputy Mayor Lorin Tkachuk	Lac La Biche County
Reeve Lou Hall	Westlock County
Mayor Marcel Michaels	Town of Hinton

Mayor Maryann Chichak	Town of Whitecourt
Mayor Maureen Miller	Town of St. Paul
Mayor Mel Smith	Town of Redwater
Mayor Michel Doerksen	Town of Drayton Valley
Deputy Reeve Nick Gelych	Lac St. Anne County
Mayor Norman Mayer	City of Camrose
Mayor Omer Moghrabi	Lac La Biche County
Deputy Reeve Randy Orichowski	Smoky Lake County
Mayor Raymond Ralph	Town of Devon
Mayor Rod Frank	Strathcona County
Mayor Rod Shaigec	Parkland County
Mayor Ron Govenlock	Woodlands County
Mayor Stuart Houston	City of Spruce Grove
Mayor Tim MacPhee	Town of Vegreville
Mayor Tyler Gandam	City of Wetaskiwin
Mayor Vern Lymburner	Town of Valleyview
Mayor Wally Yachimetz	Town of Calmar

GUESTS:

- Councillor Tony Caterina, City of Edmonton, Ward 7
- Yetunde Oke, Intergovernmental Affairs, City of Edmonton
- Janet Riopel, President and CEO, Edmonton Chamber of Commerce
- Nicole Martel, AUMA
- Kim Trynacity, CBC
- Keith Gerein, Edmonton Journal
- Lisa Holmes
- Graham Thomson
- Honourable Shaye Anderson, Minister of Municipal Affairs, Government of Alberta
- Stephen Mandel, Leader, Alberta Party
- Steve Goodman, Alberta Freedom Conservative Party
- David Khan, Leader, Alberta Liberal Party

ALSO PRESENT:

- Bin Lau, Office of the Mayor, City of Edmonton
- Joan Laventure, Office of the Mayor, City of Edmonton
- Patricia Osadciw, Office of the Mayor, City of Edmonton
- Devin Siebold, Office of the City Clerk, City of Edmonton

OPENING REMARKS AND INTRODUCTION

The meeting convened at 9:08 a.m., Mayor D. Iveson, Caucus Chair, presided.

ADOPTION OF AGENDA AND MINUTES

That the March 18, 2019, Northern Alberta Mayors' and Reeves' Caucus meeting agenda be adopted.

Adopted with Unanimous Consent

That the following Northern Alberta Mayors' & Reeves' Caucus meeting minutes be adopted:

 October 12, 2018, Northern Alberta Mayor's and Reeves' Caucus, meeting minutes

Adopted with Unanimous Consent

Alberta Election Panel

Kim Trynacity, CBC, served as the moderator for a discussion about the upcoming provincial election. Panelists included Graham Thomson; Keith Gerein, Edmonton Journal; and Lisa Holmes, former Mayor of Morinville.

Discussion topics included:

- The possible date of the election
- Jeff Callaway's campaign for the UCP leadership
- Whether or not a budget would be released prior to the election
- Election coverage focusing on scandal instead of policy
- How municipal leaders should balance their political beliefs with the need to work with elected officials at other levels of government
- Implications of a minority government

Government of Alberta greetings

Honourable Shaye Anderson, Minister of Municipal Affairs, Government of Alberta, made a presentation and answered caucus members' questions.

Key topics included:

Infrastructure development under the current government

- The promotion of rural broadband
- The need for a stable and predictable funding plan to replace the Municipal Sustainability Initiative
- Oil and gas industrial property tax delinquencies
- · Long-term debt and taxation of cannabis

Alberta Party platform

Stephen Mandel, Alberta Party Leader, made a presentation and answered caucus members' questions.

Key topics included:

- Advocacy for Alberta and its oil industry
- The value of working together
- Economic growth as a priority
- Job creation programs
- Policies to support forestry and agriculture while considering the environment

Alberta Freedom Conservative Party platform

Steve Goodman, Alberta Freedom Conservative Party candidate for Drayton Valley-Devon, made a presentation and answered caucus members' questions.

Key topics included:

- Legislative reform
- Accounting processes and oversight
- Tax reduction
- Municipal sustainability
- Relations with the federal government relations and its policies

Alberta Urban Municipalities Association update

Cathy Heron, AUMA Board Director and Mayor of the City of St. Albert, made a presentation and answered caucus members' questions.

Key topics included:

- Negotiations on a new funding framework for municipalities
- The AUMA's advocacy priorities for the provincial election:
 - Equitable infrastructure funding
 - Municipalities' fair share of cannabis revenue

- Improved resources for policing services
- The environment and solid waste recycling
- The schedule of events for the next AUMA meeting
- Advocacy at the federal level for:
 - Addressing the effects of the mortgage financial stress test in Alberta
 - Oil industry and pipeline advocacy in Quebec, and Bonnyville's possible Resource Communities of Canada strategy.

Alberta Liberal Party platform

David Khan, Alberta Liberal Party leader, made a presentation and answered caucus members' questions.

Key topics included:

- Legislative recognition of municipalities as levels of government with additional taxation powers to match downloaded responsibilities
- The need to reduce unemployment, health care waiting times, and classroom sizes
- Partisanship
- Revenue neutral carbon tax
- Senior care

Rural Municipalities of Alberta update

Kara Westerlund, RMA Board Vice President and Brazeau County Councillor, made a presentation and answered caucus members' questions.

Key topics included:

- Working with AUMA on a new funding framework for municipalities
- Long-term capital planning
- Unpaid property taxes from oil and gas industry Rural municipalities are owed \$81 million in unpaid property taxes; RMA is advocating legislative solutions
- Intermunicipal Collaboration Frameworks (ICFs) and Intermunicipal Development Plans (IDPs) need to be reviewed prior to April 2020.
- RMA has resources available to members to advocate for their municipalities and share with constituents during the provincial election. The resources include 5 priorities: rural lens on policies, long-term MSI, intermunicipal collaboration, infrastructure and transportation, and environmental stewardship.

NEXT MEETING

The next meeting will likely include the Grand Chiefs of Treaty 6 and Treaty 8. The date has yet to be determined.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 12:03 p.m.