Northern Lights Library System Board Board Meeting 10:00 AM Saturday, May 23, 2020 Meeting Minutes

Present via Zoom

Amyotte, Laurent/Fodness, Maxine (Alt) - County of St. Paul Anheliger, Jennifer - Town of Morinville Bruce, Barry - Beaver County Diduck, David - Lamont County Frank, Daryl - Village of Kitscoty Griffin, Warren - Athabasca County (Vice-Chair) Jubinville, Marc - M.D. of Bonnyville Lefebvre, Vicky - City of Cold Lake (Chair) Lukinuk, Craig - Smoky Lake County McLuckie, Jill (via ZOOM) - Village of Mannville Millante, Jaycinth - Town of Gibbons Arnold, Mary - Village of Paradise Valley Oudshoorn, Will - Village of Innisfree Harvey, Al - Town of Lamont Saskiw, Dianne - County of Two Hills May, Tanya - Town of Bon Accord Sorochan, Elaine - Town of Two Hills **Present Via Zoom by Phone** Shaw, Karen - Sturgeon County Gramlich, Val - Village of Chauvin Absent Acres, Judy - Town of Viking Filipchuk, Richard - Thorhild County Hursin, Amelia (Myn) - S.V. of West Baptiste Stelmaschuk, Jason - County of Vermilion River Smith, Ina - S.V. of Pelican Narrows Tomaszyk, Ed - S.V. of Bondiss, Sunset Beach Krahulec, Julie - Village of Waskatenau Binder, Duncan - S.V. of Island Lake Konieczny, Roger (alt.) - County of Minburn Guests

Anheliger, Jennifer - ALTA Rep. DeSousa, Jordan – PLSB Staff Walker, Julie - Executive Director Hampson, Terri - Finance Officer/Recording Secretary Scott, Anna - Public Services Manager Smith, Barbara - Village of Boyle Brown, Cathy - Town of Tofield Coubrough, Doug - Village of Irma Dorosh, Les - Town of Redwater Thompson, Justin - Town of Vermilion Heslin, Cyndy - Village of Ryley Lawrence, Tara - Village of Marwayne Berry, David - Town of Vegreville Sabo, Lillian - Town of Mundare McQuinn, Debra - Town of Elk Point Morton, Melody - Town of Smoky Lake Olechow, Wayne - Town of Bruderheim Reid, Tom - Village of Edgerton Rudolf, Donna - Village of Myrnam Storoschuk, Lorna - Town of Bonnyville Cherniwchan, Tannia - Town of Athabasca

Tiedemann, Larry - S.V. of Mewatha Beach

Beniuk, Darlene - Lac La Biche County Lupul, Sheila - Village of Andrew Irving, Dennis - S.V. of Whispering Hills Romanko, Don - Village of Vilna Tarrant, Thomas - S.V. Island Lake South Foley, Bob - Town of Wainwright Noel, Norm & deMoissac, Tyson (alt.) - Town of St. Paul Andersen, Ryley (alt.) - M.D. of Wainwright Marusiak, Steven (alt.) - Village of Holden

Dahlgren, Jodi - LMC Pauls, Stuart - Librarian

Elliott, Heather - Marketing Knifton, Amy - Bibliographic Manager

10:00 AM

- 1. Call to order via Zoom Meeting called to order at 10:07am.
 - 2. Introductions/Quorum confirmed.
 - 3. Acknowledge of Treaty 6 and Land of the Metis Vicky Lefebvre
 - 4. Adoption of Agenda
 - ADD 6.10 Annual Report

2020/05/23-01 - Lorna Storoschuk motions to accept the Agenda as amended - carried.

5. Minutes of February 29, 2020

2020/05/23-02 Barbara Smith motions to accept the Minutes of February 29, 2020 – carried

- 6. New Business
 - 6.1. PLSB report –Jordan DeSousa
 - Public Library Pandemic Response
 - Relaunch Strategy and Checklist for re-opening
 - Phase 2 Target date is June 19
 - ILL resume in phases

- Gov't Courier 12 delivery nodes
- Staff side of Relais 1 month
- Parton side of Relais following month

2020/05/23-03 Les Dorosh motions to accept the PLSB report as presented – carried

6.2. Library Managers Council Report – Jodi Dahlgren report to be sent out. **2020/05/23-04 Debra McQuinn motions to accept the LMC report as presented -carried**

6.3. ALTA report – Jen Anheliger – report to be sent out.

ALTA AGM – June 13 at 9:30am via Zoom

Zoom training meeting – June 6 at 9:30am

2020/05/23-05-Jill McLuckie motions to accept the ALTA report as presented – carried

6.4. Financials – Terri Hampson

2020/05/23-06- Cyndy Heslin motions to accept the Financial report as presented -carried

6.5. Executive Director's Report - Julie Walker

2020/05/23-07 David Berry motions to accept the Executive Director's report as presented – carried

- 6.6. Chairman's Report Vicky Lefebvre
 - Alternates on this Board- AB regulations pg. 17 allow for this person
 - Executive Committee Member vs Board Membership representation on sub-committees.

2020/05/23-08- Elaine Sorochan motions to accept the Board Chair report as presented – carried

6.7. Policy Submission – Warren –

Al Harvey submitted the following books for recommended usage and reading:

- Parliamentary Procedure at a Glance O. Garfield Jones
- Roberts Rules of Orders Simplified & Applied 3rd Edition
- Sec 1, 1B Compensation

2020/05/23/-09- Les Dorosh motions to accept Sec 1, 1B Compensation policy as presented – carried Sec 1, 1J Vacation

2020/05/23/-10- Marc Jubinville motions to accept Sec 1, 1J Vacation policy as presented – carried Sec 1, 10 Employee Long Service

2020/05/23/-11- Marc Jubinville motions to accept Sec 1, 10 Employee Long Service policy as presented – carried

Sec 1, 1R NLLS Company Vehicles and Equipment

- Administration to provide breakdown of vehicle usage and mileage 2020/05/23/-12- Cyndy Heslin motions to accept Sec 1, 1R NLLS Company Vehicles and Equipment policy as amended to include "Km" – carried

Sec 1, 1U Equal Opportunity Employer

2020/05/23/-13- Lorna Storoschuk motions to accept Sec 1, 1U Equal Opportunity Employer policy as presented – carried

Sec 1, 3F Library Property

2020/05/23/-14- Laurent Amyotte motions to accept Sec 1, 3F Library Property policy as presented – carried

Sec 1, 3Q Grievances

2020/05/23/-15- Craig Lukinuk motions to accept Sec 1, 3Q Grievances policy as presented – carried

Sec 1, 3R Executive Director Grievance

2020/05/23/-16- Will Oudshoorn motions to accept Sec 1, 3R Executive Director Grievances policy as presented – carried

Sec 1, 3V Communication Protocol Library Manager

- Send back to policy committee to discuss definition of abusive behaviour

2020/05/23/-17- Barbara Smith motions to accept Sec 1, 3R Communication Protocol Library Manager policy as presented – DEFEATED

Sec 2, 11 Board Honorarium and Expenses

2020/05/23/-18- Les Dorosh motions to accept Sec 2, 1I Board Honorarium and Expenses policy as presented – carried

Sec 3, 1G Budget

2020/05/23/-19- Marc Jubinville motions to accept Sec 3, 1G Budget policy as presented – carried

Sec 3, 1H Finance Fund Accounts

2020/05/23/-20- Craig Lukinuk motions to accept Sec 3, 1H Finance Funds Account policy as presented – carried

Sec 3, 1N NLLS Funding Overview

2020/05/23/-21- Jill McLuckie motions to accept Sec 3, 1N NLLS Funding Overview policy as presented – carried

Advocacy Committee – Terms of Reference

2020/05/23/-22- Debra McQuinn motions to accept Advocacy Committee–Terms of Reference policy as presented – carried

Executive Director Evaluation – Terms of Reference

2020/05/23/-23- Craig Lukinuk motions to accept Executive Director Evaluation–Terms of Reference policy as presented – carried

6.8.	Plan of Service Committee – Vicky
	Zone 1 – Barbara Smith will confirm with her Council
	Zone 4 – Justin Thompson and Jill McLuckie put their name forward
6.9.	Aug Election - Zone 2 & 4
	Those wishing to submit their names now for consideration:
	Zone 2
	Debra McQuinn put her name forward for consideration
	Zone 4
	Jill McLuckie put her name forward for consideration
	Election Information
	Zone 1 – Craig Lukinuk – up in 2021
	Zone 2 – Elaine Sorochan – up in 2020
	Zone 3 – Cyndy Heslin – up in 2021
	Zone 4 – Jill McLuckie – up in 2020
	Member at Large – Laurent Amyotte – up in 2020
	Member at Large – Justin Thompson – up in 2020
	Member at Large – Warren Griffin – up in 2021
	Member at Large – Larry Tiedemann – up in 2021
	Sturgeon County – Automatic Seat
	Cold Lake – Automatic Seat

6.11. Adjournment 12:15pm

The next regular board meeting will be held on Friday August 21, 2020 at 10:00 a.m.