

Northeast Alberta Information HUB Annual General Meeting Minutes June 27, 2019 Portage College, St. Paul, Alberta

Attending:

Mike Krywiak M.D. Bonnyville, Soren Odegard/County of Two Hills, Terri Hampson/Elk Point, Lorne Young/Elk Point, Ken Gwozda/Elk Point, Tim MacPhee/Vergreville, Tom Koep/Vegreville, Stan Delorme/Buffalo Lake Metis Settlement, Lorne Ladouceur/Buffalo Lake Metis Settlement, Caroline McAuley/Vermilion, Greg Sparklingeyes/Whitefish First Nation, Bob Bezpalko/Alberta HUB, Lisa Ford/Alberta HUB/RABC, Sophie Quan/RABC, Bob Buckle/City of Cold Lake, Sherri Buckle/Cold Lake Regional Chamber of Commerce,, Ross Whitelaw/Smoky Lake, Steve Upham/County of St. Paul, Bev Lockett/Portage College, Don Romanko/Vilna, Greg Sawchuk/M.D. of Bonnyville, Cheryle Eikeland/Marwayne, Laurent Amyotte/County of St. Paul, Judy Schueler/Bruderheim, Donna Rudolf/Myrnam, Jim Newman/Lamont County, Dan Warawa/Lamont County, Richard Wagner/Minburn County, Brent Williams/Minburn County, Jocelyn Lanovas/Mannville, Jody Quickstad/Mannville, Lorin Tkachuk/Lac La Biche County, Brian McEvoy/Bonnyville, Gary Ward/St. Paul, Maureen Miller/St. Paul, Christine Beveridge/Lamont, Al Harvey/Lamont, Kirk Perrin/Lamont, Corinne McGirr/County of Vermilion River, Jana Rowe/Lac La Biche County, Mike Tarkowski/Two Hills, Clayton Kittlitz/Lac la Biche County, Gerald Aalbers/Lloydminster, Dan Hobson/Lloydminster, Diane Jenkinson/M.D. of Bonnyville, Greg Barr/Vermilion, Rob Pulyk/Vermilion, Mary Lee Prior/Vermilion, Jill McLuckie/Mannville, Rex Smith/Mannville, Jennifer Leroux/Alberta HUB, James Tessier/EDT&T, Tammy Powell/EDT&T, Aaron Porier/EDT&T,

Proxy Vote: Village of Kitscoty

Special Guests: MLA David Hanson Lac La Biche St. Paul Two Hills, Angus Watt/ National Bank Financial

Regrets: Lindsay Haag/EMW, Lonnie Wolgein/County of Vermilion River, Lorne Halisky/

Smoky Lake County, MLA Jackie Homeniuk Fort Saskatchewan Vegreville, MLA Rowswell/ Vermilion- Lloydminster-Wainwright, Sheila Lupul/Andrew , MLA Laila Goodridge/ Fort McMurray – Lac La Biche, Patty Podobozny/Bruderheim, Laura Papirny/Glendon,

Debbie McMann/Innisfree, Sherri Chisan/Blue Quills University,

1.0 Vice- Chair Steve Upham called the Meeting to order at 6:45pm

Steve welcomed everyone for attending and thanked the Alberta HUB members for their dedication to regional economic development.

Soren called upon Mayor Miller/Town of St. Paul for welcoming remarks Soren called upon MLA David Hanson for welcoming remarks

2.0 Adoption of Agenda

Moved by Caroline McAuley/Vermilion to adopt the agenda.

Carried

3.0 Adoption of Minutes

Moved by Tim MacPhee/Vegreville to adopt the minutes of the June 20,2018 AGM as presented.

Carried

4.0 Steve called upon Chair Soren Odegqrd who presented the 2018/19 Alberta HUB Annual Report Chair's Message

Soren moved his report be accepted as presented.

Carried

5.0 Financial Report

Steve called upon Caroline McAuley who introduced Barb McCarthy from JMD Chartered Accountants who presented the audited Financial Statements for the year ending March 31, 2019.

Dan Warawa/Lamont County moved to accept the financial report as presented.

Carried

Steve asked for a motion to retain JMD Group LLP as financial auditors for the Northeast Alberta Information HUB for the 2019-20 operating year.

Soren Odegard moved to retain JMD LLP as financial auditors for the Northeast Alberta Information HUB

Carried

7.0 Steve called upon Lisa Ford to provide a summary of the Rural Alberta Business Center for the 2018-19.

Caroline McAuley moved to accept Lisa's report as presented.

Carried

8.0 Steve called upon Bob Bezpalko, Executive Director of Alberta HUB to provide a review of 2018-19 activities and moving forward into 2019-20.

"Video presentation"

Bob thanked Soren for his time as chair as well as the membership for their support. Bob also thanked Lisa Ford and Jennifer Leroux for their contribution and dedication to the Alberta HUB organization.

Steve Moved to accept Bob's report as presented.

Carried

9.0 Election of Board members – Bob Bezpalko

3 County/M.D. Representatives:

- Soren Odegard County of Two Hills
- Loren Tkachuk Lac La Biche County
- Steve Upham St. Paul County

With no other nominations Tim MacPhee/Vegreville moved nominations cease.

Carried

2 Town (Population over 3000) Representatives:

- Caroline McAuley Town of Vermilion
- Tim MacPhee Town of Vegreville

With no other nominations Steve Upham/St. Paul County moved nominations cease.

Carried

1 Town (Population under 3000) Representative:

Ross Whitelaw nominated Mike Tartkowski – Town of Two Hills Lorne Young nominated Terri Hampson – Elk Point

With no other nominations Tim MacPhee/Vegreville moved nominations cease.

Carried

Bob provided ballots to Lamont, Brudeheim, Two Hills, Elk Point and Smoky Lake to vote for the representative. The result showed Mike Tartkowski as the representative.

 Metis Settlement Representative: Stan Delorme – Buffalo Lake Metis Settlement With no other nominations Lorin Tkatchuk move nominations cease. 	Carried
 1 First Nation Representative: Greg Sparklingeyes— Whitefish Lake First Nation With no other nominations Caroline McAuley/Vermilion move nominations cease. 	Carried
 1 Village Representative: Jocelyn Lanovas - Mannville With no other nominations Caroline McAuley/Vermilion move nominations cease. 	Carried
1 Business/Industry Representative ■ Lindsay Haag – EMW With no other nominations Steve Upham/County of St. Paul move nominations cease.	Carried
1 Post-Secondary Educational Institution Representative Beverly Lockett – Portage College With no other nominations Don Romanko/Vilna move nominations cease.	Carried

City of Cold Lake – Bob Buckle City of Lloydminster – Katlin Ducherer

Bob Bezpalko concluded the elections by thanking the board members for their dedication to the The Northeast Alberta Information HUB and that a board meeting will take place following the AGM.

Steve introduced Angus Watt who spoke on "Alberta's Recovery"

Steve thanked Angus for a very insightful presentation.

Steve adjourned the meeting at 8:45pm.

Soren Odegard Caroline McAuley
Chair Secretary/Treasurer