

Council - Annual Organizational Meeting Minutes Tuesday, October 26, 2021 5:00 p.m. Council Chambers

- Council Present: Mayor Craig Copeland Councillor Ryan Bailey Councillor Vicky Lefebvre Councillor Bob Mattice Councillor Bill Parker Councillor Adele Richardson Councillor Chris Vining
- Staff Present:Chief Administrative Officer Kevin Nagoya
General Manager of Infrastructure Services Azam Khan
General Manager of Community Services Glenn Barnes
General Manager of Corporate Services Kristy Isert
Manager of Strategic Initiatives Andrew Serba
Executive/Recording Secretary Cindy Reimer
Marketing Coordinator Adam Kuzina
Communications Coordinator Megan Beaudoin
- Staff Absent: General Manager of Planning & Development Services Howard Pinnock

CALL TO ORDER

Todd Munday, Barrister & Solicitor, administered the Oath of Office to the following:

Mayor Craig Copeland Councillor Ryan Bailey Councillor Vicky Lefebvre Councillor Bob Mattice Councillor Bill Parker Councillor Adele Richardson Councillor Chris Vining Mayor Copeland thanked Barrister & Solicitor Munday for administering the Oaths of Office, and Barrister & Solicitor Munday left the meeting at this time being 5:34 p.m.

The meeting was called to order at this time being 5:34 p.m. by Mayor Copeland.

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Resolution # COM20211026.1001

Moved by Councillor Bailey

That the agenda be adopted as presented.

Carried Unanimously

DISCLOSURE OF INTEREST

None.

APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYORS

Deputy Mayor Rotation Schedule & Oath of Office of Deputy Mayor

Resolution # COM20211026.1002

Moved by Councillor Mattice

That Council approve an eight (8) month Deputy Mayor rotation schedule as follows:

- November 2021 to June 2022 Councillor Bill Parker
- July 2022 to February 2023 Councillor Adele Richardson
- March 2023 to October 2023 Councillor Ryan Bailey
- November 2023 to June 2024 Councillor Bob Mattice
- July 2024 to February 2025 Councillor Chris Vining
- March 2025 to October 2025 Councillor Vicky Lefebvre

Carried Unanimously

Mayor Copeland administered the Oath of Office of Deputy Mayor for the period of November 2021 to June 2022 to Councillor Parker.

COUNCIL BOARD / COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

Council Board, Committee and Commission Appointments

Resolution # COM20211026.1003

Moved by Councillor Lefebvre

That Mayor Copeland appoint Mayor & Council to the City of Cold Lake's various boards, committees and commissions for 2021/2022 as follows:

Age Friendly Cold Lake Society (Parker + Lefebvre as Alternate) Alberta HUB (Parker + Mattice as Alternate) Beaver River Regional Waste Management Commission (Copeland) Business License Appeal Committee (All Council) Cold Lake & Cold Lake First Nations Economic Development & Tourism Working Group Committee (Mattice & Parker) Cold Lake Community Grant Advisory Committee (Bailey & Richardson) Cold Lake & District Family and Community Support Services Advisory (Bailey + Richardson as Alternate) Cold Lake Economic Development Advisory Committee (Parker & Richardson) Cold Lake Regional Utility Services Commission (Lefebvre, Mattice, Richardson & Vining) Combative Sports Commission (All Members At Large) Community Standards Appeal Committee (All Council) Composite Assessment Review Board (Lefebvre, Parker & Vining) Corporate Priorities Committee (All Council) Council Complaints Committee (All Council) Hearts for Healthcare Society (Copeland) Inter City Forum on Social Policy (Richardson + Lefebvre as Alternate) Inter-Municipal Collaboration Framework Committee (Copeland, Mattice & Richardson) Inter-Municipal Development Plan Committee (Copeland & Parker) Lakeland Industry & Community Association (Lefebvre + Richardson as Alternate) Lakeland Industry & Community Association - Integrated Watershed Management Plan Committee (Parker) Lakeland Lodge & Housing Foundation (Mattice & Vining) Library Board (Bailey + Lefebvre as Alternate) Local Assessment Review Board (Lefebvre, Parker & Vining) Medley CFB Society (Copeland) Mid-Sized City Mayor's & CAO's Caucus (Copeland & Nagoya) Municipal Disaster Services Agency (Mattice & Vining) Municipal Planning Commission (All Council)

Muni-Corr (Lefebvre + Parker as Alternate) Northern Lights Library System (Lefebvre) Regional Partnership Opportunities Committee w/ Town & M.D. of B'ville (Copeland & Bailey + CAO) Subdivision & Development Appeal Board **(All Members At Large)** Taxi Permit Appeal Committee **(All Council)** Urban Hen Keeper License Appeal (Bailey, Richardson + CAO) Water North Coalition Liaison (Lefebvre & Richardson)

Carried Unanimously

NEW BUSINESS

Bylaw No. 618-AD-18 - Council Code of Conduct Bylaw

Chief Administrative Officer K. Nagoya provided information with respect to Bylaw No. 618-AD-18 being the Council Code of Conduct Bylaw.

Council reviewed Bylaw No. 618-AD-18 being the Council Code of Conduct Bylaw and no concerns were brought forth.

Bylaw No. 653-BD-19 - Procedure Bylaw

Chief Administrative Officer K. Nagoya provided information with respect to Bylaw No. 653-BD-19 being the Procedure Bylaw.

Council reviewed Bylaw No. 653-BD-19 being the Procedure Bylaw.

Councillor Vining advised that in discussions with Councillor Mattice, they would like to bring back discussions with respect to amending the Procedure Bylaw to acknowledge Indigenous Land at the outset of any meeting of Council (Councillor Vining noted that this request was brought forth in 2017 by Councillor Darrell MacDonald and at that time, the motion was defeated).

Chief Administrative Officer K. Nagoya advised that Administration could put some text together and bring to a Corporate Priorities Committee meeting for discussion and feedback to see if Council is supportive. The proposed amendment(s), if any, would be brought forth to a future Council meeting for consideration.

No other concerns were brought forth.

Policy No. 123-AD-10 - Council Compensation Policy

Chief Administrative Officer K. Nagoya provided information with respect to Policy No. 123-AD-10 being the Council Compensation Policy.

Council reviewed Policy No. 123-AD-10 being the Council Compensation Policy and no concerns were brought forth.

IN CAMERA

None.

ADJOURNMENT

Resolution # COM20211026.1004

Moved by Councillor Vining

That the meeting be adjourned at this time being 5:55 p.m.

Carried Unanimously

Mayor

Chief Administrative Officer